Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Wearing God’s Glory (Kingdom Woman)

As I mentioned a few days ago, I’m participating in the One Month Journey through Tony Evans’ and Chrystal Evans Hurst’s book, Kingdom Woman. This week, Chrystal challenged us to read the introduction. Let me just say: this book will probably mess with my heart in a way that’s refreshing and scary, all at the same time.

When I think “kingdom woman,” I conjure up thoughts of a woman who has it all together. She doesn’t seem to have a care in the world because the world is always on her side. I also envision a woman who is busy doing God’s work all the time. She’s on every committee at church, leads 7 Bible studies, and is involved in 5 different ministries at church. (Now, you know, she also teaches Sunday school, so that would make 6 ministries.) She is God’s poster woman – a woman I could never emulate.

Fortunately, for me, this in NOT a kingdom woman. Basically, a kingdom woman wears God’s glory in all she does. It’s not quantity of ministries or good things, but quality of her life for the Lord. She lives her life in the knowledge and truth of who God says she is in His Word, never selling herself short by believing the lies Satan throws her way through idle chatter and degrading mind conversations.

Personally, Satan’s lies take up more space in my mind that I care to admin. I want to be a kingdom woman, but Satan grabs a hold of my thought life and holds on for dear life. So, how can I free my mind from Satan’s poison?

1. Prayer – Prayer is super powerful. I went through a time where I continuously thought about a situation for months, and I couldn’t shake the negative thoughts that filled my mind. When I prayed, my mind slowly released these thoughts and my negative attitude. It was like I held up my clenched fist to God and He slowly pried my fingers off the the feelings I was holding on to so strongly. My mind didn’t change instantaneously, but before I knew it, God had filled my mind with thoughts that pleased Him.

2. Bible study – If I don’t spend time in the Word, I’m in a rut the whole day. Find a Bible study at a church in your area, or participate in an online one like Good Morning Girls or Proverbs 31 Ministries. There’s nothing that will encourage you to wear God’s glory that meeting with other believers to discuss God’s Word.

3. Transparency with a close, Christian friend (accountability) – This is the hardest for me. Pride crowds out thoughts of opening up to anyone.

“Do they really care about my thoughts?”

“Will they perceive me as a complainer who can’t get over herself?”

“I want to be open and honest with them, but they’re not reciprocating in the sharing. It’s a one-way conversation.”

This could be the hardest, but this could also be the most refreshing. How cool would it be to know another woman who struggles in the same area(s)! We just need to open our hearts and realize that everyone has struggles, and God can do great things through transparent relationships. (See, I’m talking like it’s so easy ;))

At the end of the Introduction, Chrystal quotes Eph. 2:10 –  “…God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” What a great reminder! I’m made in God’s image, and He has great things for me to do. We’re all messes, but God uses our messed-up life to glorify Himself. How humbling!

Even though I’ve only read the introduction, I’m already praying God will change my thinking about who He created me to be. I’m praying that I’ll live for Him alone and not the approval of others.

If you’re reading Kingdom Woman, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Wearing God’s Glory (Kingdom Woman)

  1. Oh I love these tips and watching you step further into the kingdom! Such a joy to stumble here today.

    I would be delighted to have you share this with our group of moms. Stop by to be encouraged as we have a guest post splashing us all in God’s goodness. And as always, I would be crazy honored to have you link up.

    Just moms. Sharing our notes. Creating a melody.
    http://justsarahdawn.blogspot.com/2013/09/thank-goodness.html

Leave a Reply

