Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Letting It Go (even the good things)

It’s the time of year when schedules are filled with activities upon activities: back to school programs, extra-curricular activities, filled-to-the-brim schedules. I’ve been caught in this trap before – each activity reels me in with it’s promise to satisfy one area of my life  (or my family’s life), yet fails to deliver when I’m stretched too thin to know what’s good for me. I then find myself frustrated for something I caused, something I did to myself. I usually justify my participation by saying, “It’s a good thing. I need to join because _________.” (The second justification is usually based on my own selfish desires or pride that I can prove myself in this activity.)

This looks completely different for each person, and for that, I’m so thankful. I love being busy and helping other people.  But, I’ve really been struggling with feeling like I’m going through the motions in some areas of my life. It seems like I keep doing something because I’ve always done it, or I want to please the people involved. Recently, I’ve had to say no to activities that I know are great, but would take away time with my family or not allow me time to rest after a busy day. It’s been hard because I want to do EVERYTHING. I don’t want to miss getting together with other Christians or giving my sons the opportunity to participate in social activities. Those are so important, and they do have a place in our lives. But, I’m not my best when I’m doing something out of routine or obligation.

This is a hard lesson to learn, and I’m not good at saying “no”. Maybe, for now, I can use what God’s given me to do a few things really well. I’ll struggle, but it’s certainly for the best.

How do you balance crazy demands on your life and finding time to rest and be with your loved ones?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

