Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Mommy-Son/Daddy-Son Dates

Since the boys are now old enough to enjoy time alone with Philip or me, I’ve instituted Mommy-Son (or Daddy-Son) dates once a month. These times are carved out of our normal routine to give individualized attention to each of the boys. Earlier in June, Ryan and I went strawberry picking for the first time. Today, I took Evan to the library and the store while Philip took Ryan to the Rail Festival at Carillon Park. Later this month, I’m taking Evan to the park to work on his climbing skills.

2013-06-22 11.07.10 2013-06-22 12.24.32 2013-06-22 12.30.41 2013-06-22 12.55.00 2013-06-22 13.06.35

Why am I doing this? Well, I look forward to any one-on-one time I have with my sons. I spend time with both of them all day long, but I discover new idiosyncrasies when I’m with them individually. It’s also fun to go to new places or try new things, especially when it’s something that interests the boys. I don’t know how, but I also feel like a better mom after individual time with Ryan and Evan.

What are some parent-child dates you do with your kids?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

