Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Summer Bible Study: Part 1

If there’s something that excites me,  it’s Bible study. The thrill of learning about the Lord, and being reminded of His love for me, is beyond fun. I usually participate in Bible studies throughout the school year at church, and find another study to do during the summer.

This summer, like last, I’m participating in Beth Moore’s Bible study through her blog. She is “leading” women through Gideon: Your Weakness. God’s Strength by Pricilla Shirer. I’m already 2 weeks in, and God is already working on my heart. For me, the most fascinating part of this study is who Gideon was. He was definitely NOT an Abraham (strong in faith) or a David (strong in might). When the angel of the Lord appeared to him, he was secretly threshing his wheat in a winepress!

Over and over, God calls men and women who don’t measure up to our idea of “God’s chosen”. In the Bible, He called murderers (David), tax collectors (Matthew), childless couples (Abraham and Sarah), and even a secret wheat thresher (Gideon) to accomplish great tasks. But, He didn’t call them after they had demonstrated their greatness. He called them when they were doing ordinary tasks. Mundane tasks, if you will. How often I forget that God is preparing me for something, even in the daily grind of life. When I’m folding laundry, God is preparing me for something greater. (I’m certainly not going to be a professional laundry folder, but I do think God examines my attitude when faced with jobs like that.)

What about our identity? In Judges 6, the angel of the Lord called Gideon a “mighty warrior.” What in the world? Gideon wasn’t behaving like a mighty warrior. Instead, he was acting like a scared child looking over his shoulder for the Midianites to pounce at any moment. I’m so thankful God doesn’t call me by my behavior. I can think of many unbecoming ones that I’ve had throughout my life. But those aren’t my identity in Christ. Colossians 3:12 says, “Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved…” Am I living in light of my identity in Christ or my behaviors?

I’m excited for the next few weeks in this study. I’ll continue to post thoughts about what I’m learning. In the meantime, are you participating in a summer Bible study? What are you studying and what are you learning from it?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

