Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Book Review: Road Trip To Redemption

Roadtrip To Redemption

Road Trip to Redemption is an amazing story about the Mathias family. Brad, the author of this book and the father, chronicles his family’s journey on a family road trip. However, this isn’t a normal road trip. This one is fueled by a tragic event that happened to one of Brad’s children. Through various events throughout the trip, God revealed Himself to the author’s family in ways only He could.

Even though I have 2 young children, I was reminded of the importance of focusing on heart issues rather than behavioral issues. No matter what the behavior, a child’s heart is directing that behavior. My prayer is that I can remember this nugget of truth and put it in to practice as my boys grow up.

Another area that intrigued me was a parent’s authenticity with a child, especially in their walk with the Lord. My boys look up to me, and I want them to see that my faith is real and not just a “Sunday only” faith. That means letting down my “perfect parent persona” around them and my friends (especially other moms).

I would highly recommend this book for any parent, no matter how young or old your kids are, as well as those who work with young adults. The insights found in this book are profound, and definitely worth taking to heart.

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Tyndale House.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

