Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

What to do this summer?

Many bloggers I follow are posting their summer bucket lists for 2013. Since my family and I have already gone on vacation, I’m excited to have the whole summer ahead of us. These are some of the activities I’ll do this summer (and my family too!):

1. Grow a garden.

I’ve already started this process. Unfortunately, when I posted this, I didn’t think I’d be sending my husband off on a business trip, packing for vacation, and getting my house in order for our home assessor to come right after we returned from our time away, all at the same time. So, I planted container gardens this year. I’m growing 4 tomato plants, 4 green pepper plants, 4 jalepeno plants, 4 cilantro plants, and 2 basil plants. I’ve already used the basil and cilantro (and given some away), and I’m just waiting for the rest to grow.

2. Visit local festivals.

We visited the Sugar Maple Festival in Bellbrook in April. It was a great festival, and I think we’ll probably go again. (It was also a chilly day, so not many people were there. We parked right down town, and didn’t have to deal with many crowds. Now, I’m not sure we’ll be so lucky next time, but we’ll go back.)

For a list of festivals in Ohio, visit http://ohiofestivals.net/festival-schedule/

3. Play miniature golf with Ryan.

Ryan has been asking to go golfing for a few weeks now. We’ll be heading to our favorite putt-putt and ice cream place, and introducing miniature golf to him.

4. Visit local metro parks.

There are many parks in my local metro park system. I haven’t been to all of them, but I want to visit a few this summer. There’s so much to explore, and the kids are bound to have a great time.

5. Pick my own fruit.

Many farms in my area are already posting u-pick strawberries dates and times. I’ve only bought strawberries from my favorite farm, but I’ve never picked my own. I’m thinking this would be a good Mommy-Ryan date ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to picking other fruit throughout the summer!

6. Visit Farmers Markets

I love farmers markets! Many vendors come to multiple markets each week, so seeing familiar faces is a nice treat. I’ll visit a few new markets this year, but I’ll always have my usual ones to visit too ๐Ÿ™‚

7. Participate in free summer reading programs.

Our local library and Half Price Books kick off their free summer reading programs next weekend. There are other free summer reading programs, but many require children to read on their own. (That’s not too helpful for a mom of an almost-3 year old and a 1 year old.) Any other recommendations for free summer reading programs would be greatly appreciated.

8. Make homemade ice cream.

There is no substitute for homemade ice cream. It is the best, and a great way to get the kids involved in “cooking”.

9. Try new summer recipes.

A few years ago, Philip and I tried grilled pizzas, and they became a family favorite. This year, I’d like to find another grilling favorite, as well as a summer beverage and a side dish that we can make summer after summer.

10. Spend time with my favorite people.

I love the “laziness” summer brings. I enjoy going to parks with my kids, sitting around our outdoor fire pit at night, and not having a structured schedule like the rest of the year. Maybe I’ll visit a new park each week with Ryan and Evan. Maybe I’ll plan a picnic for the 4 of us and meet Philip for lunch one day. No matter what we do, the most important thing about this summer is making memories and giving Ryan and Evan experiences they will enjoy (and maybe remember) for months to come.

What are you doing this summer? Feel free to share your ideas!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “What to do this summer?

  1. Emma on said:

    I love your list! I had lots of fun at all the festivals as a vendor! My favorites were the Popcorn Festival in Beavercreek and the Tipp City Mum Festival–but both of those are in September. We also just bought an ice cream maker so we’ve been making lots of ice cream…which is both good and bad. ๐Ÿ™‚ Miss you, friend!

    • Thanks Emma! I’ll have to go to the Mum festival this year. Growing up in Beavercreek, I’ve been to my share of Popcorn festivals, but it’s changed over the past few years. You’ll have to post your adventure with your ice cream maker and I’ll post mine. We’ll swap recipes ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Diane on said:

    Take the kids to a pool at least once a week this summer. Get them used to the water. Ryan could even take swimming lessons – just a suggestion.

Leave a Reply

