Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Book Review: Shepherding a Child’s Heart

Recently, I had a conversation with a family member about reading parenting books. We both agreed that we read the usual books when we were pregnant (What to Expect When You’re Expecting, BabyWise, etc.), but we hadn’t read parenting books since our kids were born.

I just finished Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp. This was my first general parenting book, and I wasn’t disappointed. (I have read books specifically for boys, but nothing that offered general parenting advice.) I appreciated the author’s focus on getting to the heart of a behavior, not just focusing on the surface issue. Many key ideas were emphasized over and over again, but I appreciated the consistency of the message.

What parenting books would you recommend?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Shepherding a Child’s Heart

  1. Kent taught this book to the Homebuilder’s class about 10 years ago. It was a terrific bookstudy. I loved how it addressed behavior from a spiritual point of view (answering the question, “how does a child know how to tantrum? who showed him how to do that!”) Yes, our children will worship something. We want to ensure they worship their creator and savior. I recommend that book all the time. So glad you have read it.

    • Thanks for the insight, Katherine. This book has opened my eyes to many behaviors I’m already seeing in Ryan and Evan. It’s true: we are all sinners, and we need to see our children as sinners too.

Leave a Reply

