Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Baby Steps to an Organized Life

Have you ever been in a church service or Bible study, and you know the minister/Bible teacher’s topic was speaking directly to you? You know you have to keep your eyes down, so as not to make eye contact with the leader and be called out as the “what not to do” example for the topic being discussed? (Knowing, in your heart of hearts, that the leader had no clue this topic was speaking to you so heavily.) Well, I’ve experienced this just today.

Tuesday is Bible Study day at my church. Today’s topic was organization and simplifying our lives. As I did the lesson, I knew God was saying, “Listen to Me. Listen to what I have to say to you in this area.” Now, my house won’t be in a magazine for the “cleanest house of the year” but neither will it be on the next episode of Hoarders.  My house is cluttered, but I can walk through it without tripping on toys, shoes, and laundry baskets (at least today). Recently, because of this lesson and other circumstances in my life, I’ve frequently focused on decluttering and keeping my home a little neater. I’ve implemented small changes which make my days run much smoother. For instance, I began unloading the dishwasher in the morning while I get my sons breakfast and make coffee for Philip and me. Just that one task makes me feel like I accomplished something. I’ve also started setting a timer for a quick pick up of the living room before Philip comes home. Ryan thinks it’s a game and helps with the pick up too. These are tips that may be habits for many of you. For me, it’s been a conscious effort to get organized and make my home the peaceful space my family needs.

What are some tips you use to keep your home organized? Have you read any books on organization/simplifying your life that you would recommend?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Baby Steps to an Organized Life

  1. Get a labelmaker!

    I get some good tips from this website: http://orgjunkie.com/

    I really find good ideas from Pinterest, too. Little things that are easy that I know I can implement, like, a small basket to hold our remotes. Keeps the clutter off our coffee table, and makes them easy to find!

    I tend to hold on to a lot of cards, memorabilia, ticket stubs, etc. One of my favorite projects was to take shoebox-sized Rubbermaid containers, and label them, one for each year. Anything I want to keep (kid notes, art, etc) has to be able to fit in the box. At the end of the year, I go through the box and take out anything that isn’t *really* important. After 3 years, I go through 3 years of boxes and condense those years down to one box. I’ll have to take a pic sometime to show you. But it really helps me decide what is really important to keep and what I can honestly get rid of (for example, I don’t need to keep EVERY card I got from mom’s funeral–just the ones with special meaning, and her obituary and memorial service program). If there’s something that I think I *might* want to see later, but don’t want to hold onto, I take a picture of it and then put it in a box.

    • The label maker is a wonderful idea! I’ve been on a book buying spree, so I need to get some bookshelves. The bookshelf could also hold many of those plastic boxes you were talking about. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

