Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Super Bowl Food

Every Super Bowl, I get a little teary-eyed because it signals the end of the football season. But, as I bid farewell to the game of football for 8 months, I celebrate with great food. Usually, my family orders pizza and relaxes in the comfort of our own home. This year, we continued relaxing at home, but we tried 3 new recipes: Soft Pretzels by Alton Brown, a take on the Spinach Queso from J. Alexander’s, and Andes Creme de Menthe Marbled Brownies (the recipe on the back of the Andes Mints Baking Chips bag).

I followed the recipe exactly for the soft pretzels and the brownies.

I changed a few items for the spinach queso. Instead of Velveeta, I used pepper jack and monterey jack cheeses. I also used chopped spinach instead of creamed spinach. The store was out of jalepeno peppers, so I used 1 can of diced green chiles. I didn’t add the tomato, but I will add it the next time. I also added some milk to smooth out the consistency.

Concensus:

The soft pretzels were YUMMY! Definitely making them again.

Soft Pretzels (Before)

Soft Pretzels (After)

The spinach queso was very good. It was a little thick, and it needed something (maybe tomatoes). I’m glad I used regular cheese and chopped spinach. I’ll make this again too, but with a few changes.

The brownies were also delicious. The baking chips melted on top and created a chocolate shell of deliciousness!

Andes Creme de Menthe Marbled Brownies

Overall, we were very satisfied with the snacks of choice!

What were some of your favorite Super Bowl foods?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Super Bowl Food

  1. Chris Miller on said:

    Joe and Lana introduced us to that pretzel receipe. It is delicious!!! Sounds like some seriously good food. 🙂

  2. I made 2 new recipes this year, and they were both hits!
    Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips: http://thethreadaffect.com/2012/06/30/fruit-salsa-with-baked-cinnamon-chips/
    and
    Buffalo Chicken Bites: http://www.ro-tel.com/recipes-Buffalo-Chicken-Bites-6723.html

Leave a comment