Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

Connecting with Other Women

When I decided to become a stay at home mom, I was super thrilled. I knew God wanted me to stay at home, and I was looking forward to spending time with my son. Right away, I noticed a void in 2 areas of my life with this new decision: adult conversation and intellectual stimulation. When I worked, I talked to adults all day. I was able to hold stimulating conversations. I planned conference sessions and webinars for others in my field. Honestly, the transition from working in an office to staying at home was harder than I expected.

Soon after Ryan was born, I began looking for ways to connect with other women. These connections came in various forms, and they all blessed me in some way. If you’re a stay at home mom (or soon to be one), here are 3 ways I connected with other moms/women:

1. Bible Studies – If you belong to a church that offers women’s Bible studies, get plugged in to one. Some may even offer childcare for your little ones! If you don’t have women’s Bible studies, find some friends or neighbors and start one of your own. Diving into the Word of God with other women is the most encouraging part of my week, and I know you’ll be blessed also.

2. Book Studies – Just like Bible studies, book studies can be done with other women from church, friends, or neighbors. Many blogs for women offer online book studies throughout the year also. My favorite is Bloom (in)courage. I’ve done 3 book studies through this site, and have come away challenged and strengthened each time. A schedule is posted about the chapters that are covered each week. Bloom will post a video pertaining to the chapters covered, giving a little more insight into the content. After watching the video, readers post their thoughts or questions in the comment section. Their new study, Prayer: Finding the Heart’s True Home, begins Feb. 11. Other sites that have book studies currently underway are:

SarahMae.comDesperate: Hope for the Mom Who Needs to Breathe

Grace Full MamaBecause He Loves Me: How Christ Transforms Our Daily Life

The MOB SocietyGive Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus

Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible StudiesLet.It.Go.

**Disclaimer: I haven’t read these books, but they’re on my Books to Read list.

If you’ve read them, which one(s) did you read, and what did you think?

3. Playdates – I’ve found that moms have just as much fun as the kids when it comes to playdates. The kids play and run around while the moms talk with each other. When it’s nice outside, a park or splash area is a great place for playdates. When the weather is cold or rainy, another house or a restaurant with a play area is a great alternative. I personally enjoy playdates because my sons are exhausted afterwards and sleep VERY well during naptime!

These suggestions are not meant to pull you away from your kids or your role as a mom. Actually, these activities have made me a better wife and mom. Many of these suggestions can be done in the comfort of your own home. The goal is connecting with other women!

How do you connect with other women?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Connecting with Other Women

  1. You’re so right–Connecting with other women is an important part of growing in Christ and staying sane as a SAHM.

  2. Great stuff here! I would love for you to come over to my blog hop and share this there!
    http://countrifiedhicks.blogspot.com/2013/02/mondays-with-countrified-hicks-blog-hop.html

  3. Great resources! And I love that you suggested starting a group of your own…I think that many times we’re looking for something to draw from and be taught, but it’s so important that we take the initiative and reach out to others. I co-lead one evening small group study (without kids) and then also participate in a book discussion group with other moms where we all bring our kids (and attempt to have actual discussion with 12 kids running around!).

    • I know I feel unequipped to lead anything, but that’s my own insecurity getting in the way. Once I talk to other women, I find that I’m not the only one who has a need for community and my confidence grows. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

