Megan's Ponderings

Contemplations from a Blessed Life

The Fitting Room

A few days ago, I posted on Facebook that I just finished The Fitting Room: Putting on the Character of God by Kelly Minter. In Colossians 3:12-17, Paul writes that we, as Christians, are chosen, holy, and dearly loved and emphasizes the virtues that we should “put on” because of Christ: forgiveness, peace, kindness, humility, compassion, patience, joy. Kelly describes these virtues in detail, while using her personal experiences to bring to light what these virtues could look like in our lives.

After reading the book, I realized that these virtues are not so easy to “put on.” I may think that I’m kind, but is my kindness just friendliness or “being nice”? I may have compassion, but do I care enough to put my plans on hold in the busyness of life for a friend (or a stranger)? Kelly constantly reminds readers that these virtues can only come with dependence on the Lord and the working of the Holy Spirit in our lives. Without Christ, these virtues are non-existent, even with our best try.

I enjoyed this book! If you’ve read it, what did you think?

I would love to hear about the books you’re reading…I’ll add them to my ongoing “Books to Read” list 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Fitting Room

  1. I am reading The Lord of the Rings for my fiction, and Crazy Love by Francis Chan for my nonfiction.

Leave a Reply

